Direct Phone: (504) 865-2606
Email Address:
Office: 433 Communications/Music Complex
Ph.D., Louisiana State University
M.M., University of New Orleans
B.M., Loyola University New Orleans
Intro to Music Technology
Digital Audio Production
Electro-Acoustic Ensemble
Style & Practice of Pop Music


Assistant Professor, Music Industry Technology

Jeffrey Albert is a musician, music technologist, and educator, and currently serves as Assistant Professor of Music Industry Technology at Loyola. In May 2013, Jeff became the first graduate of the PhD program in Experimental Music and Digital Media at Louisiana State University, where his teachers included Stephen David Beck and Jesse Allison. He also holds degrees from Loyola University New Orleans and the University of New Orleans, and has previously served on the faculty of Xavier University of Louisiana and the University of New Orleans. Jeff's areas of research include the intersections of improvisation and technology, performance paradigms for live computer music, and audio pedagogy.

Albert was named a Rising Star Trombonist in the Downbeat Critics Polls annually from 2011-2015, and performs regularly in the New Orleans area, the US, and Europe. In 2013, the Paris-based record label Rogue Art released his CD, The Tree on the Mound, which features Kidd Jordan, Hamid Drake, and Joshua Abrams. In addition to leading several groups of his own, Jeff is a member of Hamid Drake's Bindu-Reggaeology band, and has co-led two bands (Lucky 7s and Long Sidewalks) with with fellow trombonist Jeb Bishop. Jeff has performed with many great improvisers, including Georg Graewe, Tobias Delius, Dave Rempis, Jeff Parker, and others. He has been a band member of New Orleans greats George Porter and Wardell Querzergue, and backed household names such as Stevie Wonder, Lady Gaga, Tony Bennett, The Meters, and Bonnie Raitt. Jeff also performs with the Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra and the New Orleans Opera.

Jeff has given presentations at the conferences of the Society for ElectroAcoustic Music in the United States, the Association for Technology in Music Instruction, the Symposium for Laptop Ensembles and Orchestras, the International Society for Improvised Music, the Guelph Jazz Festival Colloquium, and the inaugural Symposium on Integrated Composition Improvisation and Technology. His article "Improvisation as Tool and Intention: Organizational Approaches in Laptop Orchestras and Their Effect on Personal Musical Practices" was published December of 2012 in Critical Studies in Improvisation/Etudes critiques en improvisation; another article, "Baghdad Music Journal: A Soldier's Move Toward Technology in Music," which Jeff co-authored with William Thompson IV, appears Leonardo Music Journal (December 2015).

Jeff is the founder and chief instigator of the Open Ears Music Series, a board member of the non-profit New Orleans International Sound Exchange, and writes the blog Scratch My Brain.

In His Own Words

"It is very rewarding to hear the great music produced by our students and graduates, and think that I have had a small part in helping them reach some of their goals."


Jeff’s Latest

Filmmaker Magazine Interviews Professor Jon Vogl

FILMMAKER Magazine recently sat down with Digital Filmmaking professor Jon Vogl to talk shop about post-production – and how filmmakers pay for it. A leading industry publication for over two decades, FILMMAKER offers editorials on the art and the business […]

Professor Esteb’s Feature Sweeps Festivals Across Country

It’s been quite a festival season for Instructor of Screenwriting Steven Esteb. His 2016 feature film, Hate Crime, has swept film festivals across the country, winning awards and accolades in twelve different festivals. This week, the drama racked up its […]

Professor Garrett Bradley Wins Award at Sundance

Garrett Bradley, Instructor of Digital Filmmaking, made quite the splash at the 2017 Sundance Film Festival with her new short film, Alone. The film, which documents the consequences of mass incarceration as seen through the eyes of a single New […]

Read More

Other Faculty Members