Arts & Entertainment Industry Forum: Earphunk

Earphunk (Alex Bowen, Christian Galle, and Michael Matthews) sit down with Professor David Buttrey (11/04/2013).

About Earphunk

Earphunk is a New Orleans-based progressive funk band that first formed in 2008 when LSU students Mark Hempe (guitar, vocals), Paul Provosty (guitar), Michael Matthews (drums), and Michael Comeaux (bass) played their first gig at Bogie’s, a college bar in Baton Rouge. The band enlisted Christian Galle (keys) a few months later, thus rounding out a lineup that would last for seven years.

With its lineup intact, Earphunk began extensive touring, eventually becoming a headline act at Tipitina's and Offbeatmagazine cover artist. The band’s eclectic take on funk-rock and penchant for improvisation earned them a dependable audience on the national jam band scene, and released a series of studio albums: Comin' Up in 2011, Nine to Five in 2013, Sweet Nasty in 2014, Right Where I Belong in 2016.