Arts & Entertainment Industry Forum: Black Lips

Cole Alexander and Jared Swilley of Black Lips discuss their careers (02/25/2013).

About Black Lips

Black Lips is a garage rock band formed in 1999 in Dunwoody, Georgia, whose current lineup includes Cole Alexander (vocals, rhythm guitar), Jared Swilley (vocals, bass guitar), Jack Hines (guitar, voice), Oakley Munson (drums), and Zumi Rosow (saxophone). The band released their first 7" in 2002 with tracks from their first-ever studio LP, which was completed in 2000 with producer/guitarist Eric Gagnon of The El Caminos. Throughout a career spanning much of the last two decades, the Black Lips have developed a national following through their non-stop touring and embrace of experimentation in the studio.

In May 2017, Black Lips released their first album in three years, Satan’s graffiti or God’s art?. Produced by Sean Ono Lennon throughout 2016, the 18-track concept album features the band's new five-member lineup, with newcomers Hines, Munson, and Rosow joining in the mix.